Our Team


Lynn Butler-Kisber, Ed.D.

Founding and Current Editor, LEARNing Landscapes

In addition to her responsibilities as Editor of LEARNing Landscapes, Lynn is a Professor in the Department of Integrated Studies in the Faculty of Education at McGill University. The focus of her work is on literacy learning, student engagement, leadership, professional development, and qualitative methodologies, and she has published and presented extensively in these areas. She is currently working on the second edition of Qualitative Inquiry: Thematic, Narrative and Arts-Based Perspectives, published by Sage. 



Michael Canuel, Ed.D.

Founding and Current Publisher, LEARNing Landscapes

Former English teacher, financial analyst and businessman, Michael Canuel 
has been the Chief Executive Officer of LEARN since its inception. After 
having taught at the high school level for 12 years, he left to take on
 the challenges of the business world where he remained for over 20 years before he took on the responsibilities of bringing together three strong and dynamic organizations to help create what LEARN is today.



Mary Stewart, Ph.D.

Managing Editor, LEARNing Landscapes

Mary's background as an elementary and high school teacher and her experiences with school research projects have contributed to a keen interest and commitment to classroom research, literacy learning, education and the arts and the role of collaboration in learning and leadership. These interests inform her work as Managing Editor of LEARNing Landscapes, as well as her other roles at LEARN.



David Mitchell, B.A.

Copy Editor, LEARNing Landscapes

David has a bachelor’s degree in English literature and philosophy from Concordia University. Since 1997 he has been providing freelance translation, copywriting and editing services to both the private sector and government agencies throughout Quebec. He has copyedited all issues of the journal and first began working with LEARN in 2003.




Editorial Board

Patricia Cordeiro

Rhode Island College

Carl Leggo

The University of British Columbia

Ruth Leitch

Queen’s University of Belfast

Anne Lessard

Université de Sherbrooke

Shaun Murphy

University of Saskatchewan

Carolyn Sturge Sparkes

Memorial University of Newfoundland